Skip to Main Content

TETL Announces Dr. Jenny McGown, Donna Eurek, and Spring Branch ISD are 2023-2024 TETL Award Winners

TETL Announces Dr. Jenny McGown, Donna Eurek, and Spring Branch ISD are 2023-2024 TETL Award Winners

For Immediate Release: June 26, 2024

TETL Announces Dr. Jenny McGownDonna Eurek, and Spring Branch ISD are 2023-2024 TETL Award Winners 

Dallas, TX— Texas Education Technology Leaders (TETL) has announced that Dr. Jenny McGown, Superintendent of Klein ISD; Donna Eurek, Chief Technology Officer at Prosper ISD; and Spring Branch ISD, led by Ashley May, Education Technology Director, are the winners of their annual awards.

Dr. Jenny McGown, Superintendent of Klein ISD, is the recipient of the Empowered Superintendent Award. Each year, TETL selects a superintendent who has promoted and supported innovative uses of technology in their district. The award considers categories of leadership, innovative projects, collaboration, and district awards and recognitions. McGowan’s leadership within Klein ISD exemplifies a commitment to fostering transformative and innovative learning opportunities for all students. Klein ISD shares a vision to ensure that every student enters with a promise and exits with a purpose. Under McGowan’s formidable leadership, the district employs initiatives that provide rigorous and inclusive educational experiences. McGown embodies transformative leadership and her administration has been instrumental in developing unique pathways for students to earn advanced degrees before high school graduation.

Donna Eurek, Chief Technology Officer, Prosper CISD, is the recipient of the Grace Hopper Award.Named for Grace Hopper, a pioneer of computer programming and leader as a US Navy Rear Admiral, the award serves as TETL’s “Outstanding CTO of the Year” award. Since her first day at Prosper ISD, Eurek has demonstrated effective, collaborative, strength-based leadership—she is a team player through and through. She has been a pivotal force in the success of numerous technology projects throughout the district. Through her work developing Prosper CISD’s technology infrastructure, Eurek has created the backbone to sustainable student learning in a fast-growing school district. She consistently implements systematic approaches to solve district challenges, and the programs and initiatives Eurek has implemented and overseen have significantly contributed to improved student outcomes.

Spring Branch ISD, led by Ashley May, Education Technology Director, is the recipient of TETL’s TEAM Award. May has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills in building a cohesive instructional technology team focused on equitable distribution of resources and collaboration with all stakeholders. In today's digital age, equitable access to technology for all students is critical for successful learning, and May is a champion for professional development and ensuring access to high-quality learning resources. Over the past several years, the Spring Branch team has worked diligently to achieve equitable access to learning technology by forging strong partnerships with teachers, administrators, and the broader community to best serve the needs of all students.

About Texas Education Technology Leaders TETL (formerly Texas K-12 CTO Council) is a chapter of the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) and is the premier organization for technology leaders in Texas K-12 school districts. Being a leader in the field of education technology depends on having the right support and guidance to stay ahead of quickly changing technology trends. Your network is key to helping the school districts you serve implement the best systems and solutions possible. We understand the challenges you face today—and we help you look ahead to what’s on the horizon. We tailor our services to support you and to help you stay one step ahead of an ever-changing technology environment. We empower education technology leaders . . . for today and tomorrow.